How and why I started my tech journey

How and why I started my tech journey

Introduction

In September 2013 I joined Egerton University in Njoro,Kenya to pursue Bsc. Computer Science.Prior to this I had never done a computer class or have a laptop to practice with.I did two semesters and I convinced myself (imposter syndrome),I was not good at the course and requested for an academic leave.Also bad decisions played a major role.

Mathematics

After getting involved in several businesses as well as accounting certification courses ,I decided to give computer science another shot. In September 2016,I enrolled in Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology to pursue Bsc.Mathematics and computer science.This has not been an easy road,however it has done me more good,the mathematics has really helped me appreciate programming.

Programming

In 2018 I undertook a 6 month course at ACWICT in Nairobi, Kenya under a programm dubbed Ninaweza which means( I can )where I did Microsoft Technology Associate certification in programming with python,Introduction to Programming using HTML& CSS,Software Development Fundamentals and HTML5 Application Development Fundamentals. This boosted my confidence that I can actually code!

Programming projects

In 2020, I undertook a 6 month programming bootcamp in fullstack web development in Moringa school,Kenya which introduced me to doing real world projects. It also guided me on how to look up resources in relation to programming, learn new languages such as Angular,Django,Flask e.t.c and really help me became a developer like I always wanted to. It took my confidence a notch higher.

Covid-19 Response

In Kenya the lock down was issued during the first week of March. All schools were closed and being a student myself who was eagerly looking forward to finish my coursework in 2020,I felt the impact. This also created an opportunity to understand others who were still in school like me.

I then started an organisation known as [africantechgirl.org] to teach individuals from ages 7 years and above programming. I also wrote articles and blogs on what I was learning during that period.

This led me to my purpose, on why I started tech, not just to learn how to develop good systems that will be used anywhere in the world but to share my knowledge with young individuals as they start their journey in tech.

Conclusion

I am still working on being good at what I want and aspire to be.

I face challenges, one good example, is recently being let down by a web hosting company that resulted to my website being down for more than four months.Recovering my writing bug has been a challenge, but here I am.

Imposter syndrome, dealing with appreciating what I can do and what am capable of.Asking for my worth not just from others but first from myself.

I hope to teach tech skills globally, become a data scientist ,a good backend developer and write good articles.